Serra vs. Hughes fight off

The Matt Serra vs. Matt Hughes fight for UFC 79 New Years Eve Weekend has been postponed. Matt Serra has got himself one of those herniated disks in his back.

“This is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do,” said Serra. “I’ve never had a back injury before; I could hardly get off of the MRI table. There is no way I can train through this, and I’m devastated, especially because this was such an important fight. I was looking forward to fighting Matt Hughes. All my training was going phenomenally until Monday — all I can do now is to get better and to fight again as soon as possible.”

Soooo….this makes the long anticipated Chuck Liddell vs. Wanderlei Silva the solo main event now. Too bad this fight lost some steam with both of them dropping their last couple of fights. It’s still been in the works for a long time and the UFC will kick the marketing machine into high gear now to try and make people forget what the card is missing without the title fight.

For more intelligent banter on this go to Sam Caplan’s place.
tag: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

