UFC gives Smackdown to UFCtakedown

From Sprawl ‘n Brawl

Late last week, Matt Cava of UFCtakedown.com was issued a Cease and Desist by Zuffa, LLC. He has been told to remove his website. They specifically nailed him for using UFC in his URL as well as broadcasting illegal fight videos. September 8th’s UFC 75: Champion v. Champion videos as well as a fight between Ricardo Arona and Quinton Jackson were specifically mentioned. As of today, UFCtakedown.com no longer exists. In the meantime, Matt has been able to secure MMAtakedown.net for the time being.

In recent months the UFC has really cracked down on videos being posted online of their fights. Within hours of events fights are posted online and then within a few more hours whoever the UFC pays to surf said sites requests that they be removed. As Zuffa, LLC also ownes WEC the same happens with their videos.

I’m sorry to hear that UFCtakedown.com is taking the brunt of this as there are tons of sites that do it. I have recently stopped due to their crackdown myself. I like UFCtakedown. In fact, it is the only MMA blog that we link to at this time. I read and subscribe to many MMA blogs but stumbled upon them in it’s early stages and wanted to lend some support to a nice site.

As far as getting on them for having the UFC name included, as Sprawl ‘n Brawl mentions, there are many other blogs and sites that have UFC in the title and it should be what is good for one is good for all. It obviously appears that it is a part of their beef with them. Our friends at BigTenFever.com had a similar run in with The Big Ten. There are other sites out there with Big Ten in the title but someone had a personal beef with them and pushed the subject with the conference.

Anyway, here is a video they must have missed. Awesome action, give it a few minutes of your time.

Note to Zuffa: This is not a real UFC fight, it is for entertainment purposes. I have not downloaded it, it’s hosted at YouTube. Check it out, I find it comical, you might too.

tag: , ,

Posted in MMA, UFC, Video. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “UFC gives Smackdown to UFCtakedown”

  1. Matt Says:

    Hey Tino,

    Thanks for all your support. Yeah, it was a raw deal what happened, but I can’t say I didn’t expect it. I thought eventually the UFC/Zuffa would come after ALL of us UFC bloggers. However, it seems I am one of a handful that have been picked out. I am fairly certain it was my posting of videos under a UFC domain name that got me noticed.

    In a strange twist of luck, my Inside the Cage Radio show co-host Sam Caplan has recently made me part of his growing site, FiveOuncesOfPain.com. We had talked about the move for a while, and the Zuffa C&D letter allowed me to make the jump.

    FiveOuncesOfPain.com is the combination of several MMA writers and always stirs it up. I’d say if you liked MMA(UFC)takedown, you really like this site as well.

    Again, thanks for your kind words, and keep up the kickass job your doing with this site.

    – Matt

  2. Tino Says:

    Thanks for stopping by Matt. I’m a fan of Sam’s stuff as well. Love the radio show by the way, listen all the time. Good luck with that and Five Ounces of Pain.


Leave a Reply

