NFL Jabber 8/10/07

tspbabe_cowboys1.jpg

The image “https://i0.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/cowboysgif.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. The Cowboys topped the Colts in Wade Phillips first game on the sidelines for The Boys.

“I thought it was a pretty good first outing,” Phillips said. “It’s not a regular-season game, but it’s nice to come in and play well at home, which you need to establish, and not turn the ball over and not let them run the ball. So I think we did some things well. Hard work can pay off. Winning whatever kind of game is important.”

The image “https://i0.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/lionsgif.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. Calvin Johnson got on the field for the first time and made a couple good catches for 45 yards.

Sean Payton is keeping a close eye on the D-tackle position tonight. Kendrick Clancy is getting the nod to start over Hollis Thomas.

“It’s a combination of (Clancy) playing pretty well and Hollis needing to get his weight down,” Payton said. “When it’s hot like it is now, (Hollis) is not real productive and he understands that.”

https://i2.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/titansgif.gif To little too late. After passing on him in the draft when he was with the Texans, Charlie Casserly is impressed with Vince Young.

“I talked to Vince at lunchtime,” Casserly said. “I think he had a terrific rookie year, I think he came a long way as a passing quarterback. He was asked to do a lot more things here than he was at Texas and he responded favorably and that’s a credit to him, a credit to Norm Chow.

“In year two they’ll ask him to do more in the offense and he’ll do more. He’ll improve in the mastering of the offense and the management of the game, all those things that a second year quarterback will do. I look for him to just keep improving.”

https://i2.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/packersgif.gif All the running back talk in Green Bay has been around Vernand Morency and Brandon Jackson. Hanging out in the background, ready to pounce on the position if given the chance is Noah Herron.

The image “https://i2.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/ninersgif.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. Mike Singletary hopes to be a head coach in the NFL some day. He got some practice while Mike Nolan was at Bill Walsh’s services. Singletary ran the show at camp while Nolan was gone.

“I knew when I came back into the league I wanted to be a head coach,” Singletary said. “Mike knew I wanted to be a head coach. This is something that he and I talk about, but it’s not something I focus on. The most important thing for me is to make sure I’m the best assistant head coach/defense I can be.”

The image “https://i0.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/raidersgif.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors. JaMarcus Russell has inked a deal on a house in Oakland.

Meanwhile, the Raiders have decided that Josh McCown will take the first snaps in Saturday nights preseason game against his former team.

“I don’t want to put any pressure on myself, but I want to do well for myself, want to do well for Lane and do well for this team,” McCown said. “I want to do it for everybody. But absolutely, I know how it is to go out for the first time. It’s your first shot at what you want to do. Obviously this is the peak of what a coach wants to do and this will be his first start.

“You just hope that everybody is going hard and working hard as they can for you. I know he knows he’ll get it from me, but I am going to do everything I can to make this work for him.”

https://i1.wp.com/www.tino-offseason.com/forum/myth/Billsgif.gif The Bills are putting their new O-Line out for the test tonight against the Saints.

“It’s the preseason, but it’s still a chance to go out and show what you’ve got,” said guard Duke Preston. “We have an O-line with some new guys in here, so it will be a good chance for us to get out and see how we stack up against some other teams.”

tag: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

